Partner

Stephane Criel

  • Intellectual property law and commercial law
  • Arbitrator in domain name disputes CEPANI and co-founder Future Lawyers Belgium
  • Member of Taskforce Overmorgen & Orde van Vlaamse Balies
Read more

Stephane Criel is a partner in the Commercial Law Department of our firm. He specializes in intellectual property law, trade secrets, trade practices, general commercial and economic law, and white-collar criminal defense and investigation.

He assists Belgian and international clients in finding a pragmatic solution to a wide range of commercial challenges. He analyses and assesses risks in judicial proceedings and represents clients in litigations relating to his areas of expertise.

Stephane mainly advises on the protection of intellectual creations, know-how, and trade secrets and on how to avoid and solve issues relating to intellectual property and related rights. He drafts, amends, and negotiates contracts and seeks the best solution possible and, if necessary, a creative one. Regarding criminal law matters, Stephane has represented clients in several cases concerning cybercrime and intellectual property infringements.

Stephane graduated in law (Ghent University 1993) and obtained a Master of Intellectual Property and ICT Law in 2000 (bilingual degree, Katholieke Universiteit Brussel-Katholieke Universiteit Leuven). He taught intellectual property at HOWEST (Bruges) from 2013-2016. He is a regular speaker at VLAIO and Unizo events and seminars and is guest lecturer at Ghent University.

He started his career in 1993 when he was admitted to the Ghent bar, and founded his own law firm in 1999. In 2007, he co-founded the law firm VanEeghem & Criel before joining Monard Law in 2016.

Since 2000, he has been appointed as a third-party arbitrator for CEPANI (Belgian Centre for Arbitration and Mediation), presiding over domain name disputes.

He is often elected as board member of the Ghent Bar Association and is also a member of several committees of the Flemish Bar Association (IT Committee and Artificial Intelligence Working Group).

Stephane is a co-founder of Future Lawyers Belgium (a platform that aims to inspire lawyers to innovate) and is also a member of the Overmorgen (The Day After Tomorrow) Task Force of the Flemish Bar Associations (which is tasked with creating a vision (statement) on the future of the legal profession).

Meet some of our other professionals

Looking for advice on a specific topic?

We will guide you to the right person or team.

Partner

Stephane Criel

  • Droit de la propriété intellectuelle et droit commercial
  • Arbitre dans les litiges relatifs aux noms de domaine CEPANI et co-fondateur de Future Lawyers Belgium
  • Membre de la Taskforce Overmorgen & Orde van Vlaamse Balies
lire plus

Stephane Criel est un associé du département de droit commercial de notre cabinet. Il s’est spécialisé dans le droit de la propriété intellectuelle, les secrets commerciaux, les pratiques commerciales, le droit commercial et économique général et le droit pénal économique.

Il assiste ses clients belges et internationaux dans leur recherche d’une solution pragmatique à un large éventail de problèmes commerciaux. Il analyse et évalue les risques dans les procédures judiciaires et plaide dans ses domaines d’expertise.

Stephane prodigue essentiellement des conseils en matière de protection des créations intellectuelles, du savoir-faire ou des secrets commerciaux et sur la prévention ou la résolution des problèmes de propriété intellectuelle. Il rédige ou révise et négocie les contrats et recherche la meilleure solution, créative, le cas échéant. Au niveau pénal, Stéphane a plaidé plusieurs affaires de cybercriminalité et d’atteintes à la propriété intellectuelle.

Stephane a obtenu un diplôme de droit (Université de Gand 1993) et a obtenu un Master en droit de la propriété intellectuelle et des TIC en 2000 (diplôme bilingue, Katholieke Universiteit Brussel-Katholieke Universiteit Leuven). De 2013 à 2016, il a enseigné la propriété intellectuelle à l’HOWEST (Bruges). Il fait régulièrement des présentations  VLAIO et Unizo et est maître de conférence à l’UGent (université de Gand.

Il a commencé sa carrière en 1993 au barreau de Gand et a fondé son propre cabinet d’avocats en 1999. En 2007, il a cofondé le cabinet d’avocats VanEeghem&Criel avant de rejoindre le cabinet Monard en 2016.

Depuis 2000, il est désigné comme troisième arbitre dans les litiges relatifs aux noms de domaine pour le CEPANI (Centre belge d’arbitrage et de médiation).

Il est régulièrement élu membre du Conseil de l’Ordre du Barreau de Gand et est membre de plusieurs comités de l’Ordre des avocats flamands (Comité IT et Groupe de travail sur l’Intelligence artificielle).

Stephane est cofondateur de Future Lawyers Belgium (une plateforme qui veut inciter les avocats à innover) et membre de la Taskforce Overmorgen (Après-demain) de l’Ordre des Barreaux flamands (qui a pour mission de donner une vision sur l’avenir de la profession juridique).

 

Rencontrez certains de nos autres experts

Besoin de conseils sur un sujet précis ?

Nous vous guidons vers la bonne personne ou la bonne équipe.